Closing In

I was going to blog about my two races the week before last, but then I remembered that road races and tris are generally boring to blog about.  I went to Cyclonauts Road Race, road around in a pack for about 45 miles, went up and down hills, started launching attacks out of boredom, was fifth wheel on the finishing climb, flatted 800 meters from the finish, and rolled in something like 25th riding the final climb on a flat back tire.

The next day I went to the Ashland Triathlon, swam (and got kicked and hit), road my bike hard in the rain for 26 miles, ran hard for 6.5 miles, and finished 5th overall (and 1st in my age group).  Then I sat around in the damp weather and drank beer.  And that’s about it.

Onto this last weekend, only about 1 month till Lake Placid.  Got 93-ish miles riding to Mount Wachusett.  The GPS said I did a lot of climbing (11,000 feet).  Might be off, but there was a lot of climbing.  Followed it up with a 4 mile run, and was pleased that I could get into 7:40s and then go down to a 7:20 mile after 5 hours of riding.  The next day did a 17 mile trail run.  So, things are coming together.  A few more weeks on the bike would be very helpful, but I’ll have to make due with what I have left.  2 more big weeks, and then taper.  The body is actually feeling pretty good considering I put in close to 18 hours of training last week.  Trying to up that a little bit this week. The plan is 3 days of swimming, 4 days of biking, and 5 days of running (with two brick workouts).

Figuring out that you just have to set your body to automatic and not think too much about the time or the distance.  Once you start clock-watching, you are screwed.  It’s too long of a race to think about the time or the distance.  You just have to be in the moment to get through.  Looking forward to closing this thing out.

2 responses to “Closing In

  1. “Figuring out that you just have to set your body to automatic and not think too much about the time or the distance.”

    Exactly. Race your own race, and don’t get caught up with the bike studs who will ride 5:10 and follow that up with a 3:45 run (I speak from experience!). Remember – its all about the run.

  2. Find your happy place…
    You know enough by now that super endurance events are about finding that magic equilibrium point… keep putting enough in to sustain what you’re putting out. Let your mind spend a bunch of time somewhere else…

Leave a comment